If you are a contractor doing business in Nebraska, you should be registered under the Contractor Registration Act. Although the registration requirements are not difficult, the penalties for failing to register can be significant.Under the Contractor Registration Act , all contractors performing work in Nebraska, both Nebraska and out of state companies, must be registered with the Department of Labor and obtain a registration number. The registration process is available on-line [click here] and takes but a few minutes to complete.
The Contractor Registration Act contains statutory penalties if you are doing work, but are not registered. The penalty may be up to $500.00 for the first violation and not more than $5,000.00 for subsequent violations. If you have never registred under the Act, and you are assessed a penalty, you will have 60 days to get registred before any penalties are imposed. Otherwise, if your company is assessed a penalty, you only have 15 days in which to contest the penalty.
The Nebraska legislature repealed the Non-Resident Contractor’s Act in 2010 and non-resident companies’ registration requirements are now contained in the Contactor Registration Act. If you are not registered, I recommend you complete the registration form at the Nebraska Department of Labor’s website.
If you have any questions about registration, give me a call.
Leave A Comment